My favorites

robert-and-daisy2 My husband, and my dog. My two favorite things. They both make me extremely happy, love me unconditionally and cause me to smile over and over each day. With these two, my simple life, my writing, my books, my sewing… I feel like I lead a charmed life at times.

I have started some garden things. Planted seeds for three tomato varieties in pots, cut apart some seed potatoes to dry and this weekend we will be putting seeds into garden beds and planting onion sets if all goes according to plan. We are really hoping for a bountiful harvest this year and I am trying to figure out just how to do it all. Sure my parents had a garden, but I was about 5 or 6 the last year they had it. Anyway, I need to work on planting other seeds as well – peppers, herbs, lettuces and on and on. We have a huge variety of things to plant. Or at least, it feels huge! I am determined to plant some flowers this year as well. I think morning glories climbing the posts on the front porch would be perfect.

I will be heading off to Indiana in a few weeks for a visit with my parents, the family quilting retreat and some digging through the shed. I have a lot of stuff that was either left in my old bedroom at home or tossed in the shed before the move to Texas. It needs to be cleared out. Some of it I want, like the scrapbook I painstakingly made to document my 8th grade year but other things, like college textbooks, just need to be cleared out and donated somewhere. I am only taking a car, and not the truck, so it will limit how much I can bring home. I already have too much stuff and have been working to clear things out. Last time we went to Indiana we filled the entire truck with tools from my Grandpa’s workshop for Robert and some of his wooden toys and things to tuck away for our own babies. I also picked up some of my Great-Grandmother’s sewing things. I know Robert was groaning but honestly, there was so much more I wanted to save and tuck away that I didn’t. Of course, I brought those boxes home and tucked them into the closet, I need to get everything out, clean it up and put it away. I have made some progress on taming the closets lately. So many things just got shoved into them before the wedding and then after my move that we are still digging out. It will be easier to live simply and with less clutter when I just have less stuff overall to keep up with. I also need to figure out a good solution for my dollhouse. My Grandpa made me a dollhouse when I was 8. It’s about 3 feet tall and 5 feet long. My parents were quite happy to get it out of the their house and into ours and I was fine with it all, until we determined it wouldn’t fit through the closet doors. So, now it sits in the guest room, which will someday be the nursery. I certainly don’t want to get rid of it.. I mean, it’s handmade by my Grandpa over months and months, for me… but it’s so big, I am just not sure what to do with it. Maybe once Robert builds the shed we can make up a rack near the ceiling in either the shed or the garage for it. It will probably end up needing some painting and gluing afterwards to be ready for play again, but, that I can handle.

I have been no good at cooking at all lately. Robert has had no time to sit down and talk about what he wants to eat and I’ve used that as an excuse to not thaw things which them means completely random dinners or going out. It’s not horrible since we have not gone out much at all in the past several months, but, it is a bad habit to fall back into.

Here’s an exciting bit of news… We got our first electric bill that showed a whole month of having the wood stove. We saved almost 2,000 kwh over the same month last year. Robert figures it was about a $300 savings for one month. If we do that well this month also, by the end of next winter, it will have paid for itself in savings on the electric bill.

That’s enough from me. I need to get back to the laundry and the posting and such.

Leave a Reply

