Many Accomplishments

The weekend quilting with my family was simply wonderful. I enjoyed being together with my Mom, Aunt and cousins and just sewing and sewing and sewing. I had thought I might have a hard time deciding what to work on or that I would take some time to relax and wander about the farm we were staying at. Nope. I sewed for about 16 hours each day! Got only about 6 hours of sleep a night, which is not much for me and generally stayed right at the sewing machine.

Everyone did the same and we got lots done.

minglewood-013

My cousin and I finished the quilt tops with the blocks we have been exchanging since October. Well, she finished. Mine still needs borders but I plan to do that either tonight or as soon as I return from Austin. We had fun exchanging blocks and mailing the little packages to each other and it’s neat to see how differently our quilt tops turned out.

minglewood-010

This photo, from left to right shows a pillowcase and block my other cousin completed and then my small quilt top, a table runner, the camping quilt and two pillowcases I completed over the weekend. The table runner is about 6 feet long and has Jacob’s Ladder blocks down the center and I found the most perfect orange, yellow and green variegated quilting thread for it. And the binding looks good which pretty much felt like a miracle to me!

The camping quilt went to Indiana with some of the squares cut out. I was able to finish cutting it out, piece the top, quilt it and bind it and sew the patches on from places Robert and I have visited together. It even got a label. It weighs a ton since it has a denim backing but I wanted something very sturdy for the camper. And it will definitely keep us warm when necessary. Completing it was my main goal for the weekend.

The pillowcases I made while I was showing the others how I make pillowcases. They had requested a tutorial and I was happy to oblige.

I also finished some blocks for a flying geese BOM project I am working on. I don’t have a picture of that. Overall, it was a great weekend and totally worth the exhausting, straight through drive I put myself through on Sunday to get home (I really wanted to see Robert).

Leave a Reply

